Home / POLITICS / 23 Losing NPP MPs To Forfeit Ministerial Roles In Akufo-Addo’s Next Government

23 Losing NPP MPs To Forfeit Ministerial Roles In Akufo-Addo’s Next Government

Spread the love


Twenty-three (23) New Patriotic Party (NPP) Members of the 7th Parliament who lost their seats in the 7th December 2020 Parliamentary Elections will not be appointed as Ministers or Deputy Ministers in the next Akufo-Addo government, sources close to the Presidency have disclosed to Asaase News.

In all, twenty-two (22) persons who were members of the 7th Parliament and served in various ministerial and deputy ministerial portfolios will no longer hold those positions or any other ministerial ones in this second term government of President Akufo-Addo.

The 23rd person who will also not hold a ministerial position any longer is Tangoba Abayage, the former Upper East Regional Minister, who contested the Navrongo seat, which was held by the NPP prior to the election but lost it to the National Democratic Congress (NDC) contender and in a surprisingly huge margin.

In the Ashanti Region, the New Edubiase Constituency’s George Oduro, who served as the Deputy Minister for Agriculture, will not be appointed a Minister any longer.

The rest are: Siaka Stephens, the Deputy Bono Regional Minister and former MP for Jaman North; Yaw Afful, Deputy Aviation Minister and former MP for Jaman South, and George Gyan Baffour, Minister for Planning and former MP for Wenchi, are those affected from the Bono Region.

See also  We Won Techiman South Seat By 293 Votes – NDC Insists

The Bono East Region’s Nkoranza North former MP, Derrick Oduro, who served as the Deputy Defence Minister and the Atebubu Amanten Constituency’s Kofi Amoakohene, who also served as the Bono East Regional Minister, will both be out of the next Akufo-Addo administration.

In the Central Region, four will not be joining the new government. They are the former Awutu Senya MP and Deputy Communications Minister, George Andah; Cape Coast North former MP and Deputy Minister for Works and Housing Barbara Asher Ayisi; former Ekumfi MP and Deputy Fisheries Minister, Francis Kingley Cudjoe and the former Gomoa West MP and Deputy Minister for Communications, Alexander Abban, will all not be appointed.

The Eastern Region’s former Upper Manya Krobo MP, Joseph Tetteh, who was the Deputy Eastern Regional Minister, will not have his name on the list of new ministers.

In Greater Accra, four of the MPs who lost their parliamentary seats and can, therefore, not expect to be reappointed are Boniface Abubakar Saddique, Minister of State (formerly representing the Madina Constituency in the Greater Accra); Titus Glover (formerly representing Tema East Constituency) and Deputy Minister for Transport; former Ledzokuku Constituency MP, Benard Oko Boye (former Deputy Minister for Health); and former Krowor Constituency MP, Elizabeth Afoley Quaye (former Minister for Fisheries and Acquaculture).

See also  Afia Schwarzenegger Responds To Chairman Wontumi’s Ghc2million lawsuit: ‘Any Idiot Can Go To Court’

The others are former Nalerigu/Gambaga Constituency MP in the North East Region, Hajia Alima Mahama, who was the Minister for Local Government and Rural Development; Krachi East Constituency in the Oti Region’s Michael Gyato, who was Deputy Minister for Water Resources and Sanitation; Tempane Constituency in the Upper East Region’s Joseph Dindiok Kpemka, who was a Deputy Attorney General; former Zebilla Constituency (Upper East) MP, Adongo Frank Fuseini, who was the Deputy Upper East Regional Minister; former Navrongo Constituency (Upper East Region) MP and Aviation Minister, Kofi Addah; Tangoba Abayage, the failed parliamentary candidate for Navrongo Central, who served as Upper East Regional Minister; former Lawra Constituency (Upper West Region) MP, Anthony Karbo, who was the Deputy Roads Minister; former Jomoro Constituency, (Western Region) MP, Paul Essien, who served as Deputy Minister for Chieftaincy, and former Prestea Huni Valley Constituency (Western Region) MP, Barbara Oteng Gyasi, who was the Minister for Tourism.

See also  Afenyo-Markin Justifies NPP MPs’ 4am Arrival in Parliament


The Akufo-Addo first term administration over all, had thirty-six (36) substantive Ministers and seven (7) Ministers of State. The administration also had forty-eight (48) Deputy Ministers as well as sixteen (16) Regional Ministers and sixteen (16) Deputy Regional Ministers, which brought the total number of Ministers and Deputy Ministers to one hundred and twenty-three (123).

This number is expected to go down by at least 30% as the President seeks to cut down numbers, especially of deputy ministers, and collapse some ministries, too.

Source: Asaaseradio-Accra

Disclaimer: MyGhanaMedia is not responsible for this report and its content.There are four types of content published on MyGhanaMedia daily: curated content; syndicated content; user-generated content; and original content.

Send your news stories to myghanamedia@gmail.com and Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 200818719

About Adwenpa-Hene

we publish on Entertainment, Sports, Politics, Lifestyle, and Technology. You can also follow Us on : YouTube Channel - My Ghana Media TV, Facebook - MyghanaMedia TV , Twitter - @MyGhanamedia2 & Instagram - My Ghana Media TV. Email Address: myghanamedia@gmail.com Contact Us: 0200818719

Check Also

‘I Have Evidence; Attorney-General Called Me At Odd Hours To Make A Case Against Ato Forson’ – Richard Jakpa

Spread the love In the ongoing ambulance purchase trial, Richard Jakpa, the third accused, has …