Home / POLITICS / Equal Representation For Majority, Minority In Proposed Appointments, Business Committees

Equal Representation For Majority, Minority In Proposed Appointments, Business Committees

Spread the love



There is expected to be equal representation for the Majority and Minority on the Appointments and Business Committees of Parliament, according to proposals from Parliament’s Selection Committee.

It has put forth 25 persons to constitute the Appointments Committee subject to debate on the Floor of Parliament.


A 26th member will by default be the Joe Osei-Owusu, whose position as First Deputy Speaker means he will chair the committee.


The membership of the committee reveals an even split between the Majority and Minority on the committee.


Mr. Osei-Owusu’s deputy will be the Deputy Majority Leader, Alexander Afenyo-Markin, if the list is approved.


The Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu, will serve as a ranking member on the committee with the Minority Chief Whip, Muntaka Mubarak, serving as his deputy.


The selections committee in its report recommended that the Standing Orders of Parliament be reviewed in earnest “in view of the fact that the revision would have numerical consequences on the composition of the various committees of the House.”


But because of the need to facilitate the business in the House and that of Government, the Committee proposed the membership of the Business Committee and Appointments Committee.


It wants the two Committees to work in the interim pending the passage of the reviewed Standing Orders that take into account the ratio of 138:137 for the Majority and Minority in Parliament.


The Bussiness committee will have 10 members a piece for the Majority and Minority.


It will be chaired by the Majority Leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu with his vice-chair being Mr. Afenyo-Markin.


The Ranking members will be Mr. Iddrisu and the Deputy Majority Leader, James Avedzi.


Proposed Appointments Committee members


First Deputy Speaker (Joe Osei-Owusu)

Alexander Afenyo-Markin

John Ntim Fordjour

Frank Annoh-Dompreh

Patrick Yaw Boamah

Dr. Mathew O. Prempeh

Henry Quartey

Bryan Acheampong

Ursula G. Owusu-Ekuful

Patricia Appiagyei

Osei Bonsu Amoah

Alhassan Tampoli Sulemana

John Ampoyuah Kumah

Haruna Iddrisu

M. Mubarak-Muntaka

Manama Ayariga

Sampson Ahi Member

Eric Opoku

Elizabeth Ofosu-Agyare

James Agalga

Edwin N. L. Vanderpuye

Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa

Alhassan Suhuyini

Francis Xavier Kojo Sosu

Zuwera Mohammed Ibrahim

Gizella Tetteh-Agbotui

Proposed Business Committee members

Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu

Alexender Kwamena Afenyo-Markin

Frank Annoh-Dompreh

Lydia Seyram Alhassan

Moses Anim

Mavis Hawa Koomson

Alex Tetteh Domobuah

Joseph Cudjoe

Mavis Nkansah Boadu

Habib Iddrissu Member

Haruna Iddrisu

James Klutse Avedzi

M. Mubarak-Muntaka

Ahmed Ibrahim

Dela Sowah

Abdul-Rashid H. Pelpuo

Joycelin Tetteh

Eric Afful

Dr. Zenator Rawlings

Adama Ramadan


Source: Citinewsroom

Disclaimer: MyGhanaMedia is not responsible for this report and its content.There are four types of content published on MyGhanaMedia daily: curated content; syndicated content; user-generated content; and original content.

Send your news stories to myghanamedia@gmail.com and Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 200818719

About Adwenpa-Hene

we publish on Entertainment, Sports, Politics, Lifestyle, and Technology. You can also follow Us on : YouTube Channel - My Ghana Media TV, Facebook - MyghanaMedia TV , Twitter - @MyGhanamedia2 & Instagram - My Ghana Media TV. Email Address: myghanamedia@gmail.com Contact Us: 0200818719

Check Also

Stop Destroying Our Billboards, Campaign Materials Else… – NDC Warns NPP Not To Raise Political Temperature.

Spread the love The Mahama 2024 Campaign has warned the New Patriotic Party (NPP) that …