Home / GENERAL NEWS / Office Of The Special Prosecutor Gets New Governing Board

Office Of The Special Prosecutor Gets New Governing Board

Spread the love

The Office of the Special Prosecutor (OSP) finally gets a governing board after the tenure of the first board expired in June 2021.

This means the OSP’s office is now well-constituted to perform all its functions under the law, including the recruitment of the requisite for the execution of its mandate of investigating and prosecuting suspected corruption and corruption-related offences.


The Special Prosecutor has had reason to complain how the delay in constituting the board has stalled his work, especially with respect to the recruitment of staff which the board must advise.

Pressure was brought to bare from many quarters including Civil society.

See also  GHS Issues Alert On New Mosquito Species

Since Kissi Agyebeng was sworn into office nine months ago, the OSP has been without a Board.

At a brief ceremony at the Ministry of Justice and Attorney General, the Attorney General, Godfred Dame has sworn in a 9-member board.


The absence of the Board members has been a thorny issue for many civil society organisations who have lamented the lack of a substantive Board and the impact on the operations of the Special Prosecutor.










The new members sworn in include; Special Prosecutor, Kissi Agyebeng, Deputy Special Prosecutor, Cynthia Jane Lamptey, Rep from Audit Service, Lawrence Ayagba, Rep of Ghana Police, DCOP, Wilfred Boahen Frimpong and Rep of EOCO, Aba Jacqueline Opoku.

See also  ECG Proposes 148% Upward Adjustment In Electricity Tariffs

The rest are; Rep of CHRAJ Stephen Azantilow, Rep of Ministry of National Security, COP George Tuffuor (Rtd), Rep of Anti-Corruption Civil Society Linda Ofori-Kwafo and Rep of Financial Intelligence Centre (FIC) Kofi Boadi A. Boakye.

According to sections 5 and 6 of the Office of Special Prosecutor Act 2017, Act 959, a Board is required to formulate policies for the objective of the Office, ensure proper and effective performance of the functions of the Office, advise the Special Prosecutor on the recruitment and selection of various staff among other duties.

See also  Video: “If Am Supporting Alan, Is Alan Not A Human Being" - Kennedy Agyapong Blasts NPP Executives

The previous board members included the then CID Boss, DCOP Maame Yaa Tiwaa Addo-Danquah; EOCO rep, Charles Nana Antwi; representatives from civil society, Linda Ofori Kwafo and Addai Wereko Tawiah; Kofi Wiredu Boakye, Charles Ayamadu and Kwaku Domfeh.









Source:  MyGhanaMedia.com





 There are four types of content published on MyGhanaMedia.com daily: curated content; syndicated content; user-generated content; and original content.


Send your news stories to myghanamedia@gmail.com and Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 200818719




About Adwenpa-Hene

we publish on Entertainment, Sports, Politics, Lifestyle, and Technology. You can also follow Us on : YouTube Channel - My Ghana Media TV, Facebook - MyghanaMedia TV , Twitter - @MyGhanamedia2 & Instagram - My Ghana Media TV. Email Address: myghanamedia@gmail.com Contact Us: 0200818719

Check Also

VIDEO: Come Clear On ‘Dumsor’ – Former NDPC Boss Tells Akufo-Addo’s Government

Spread the love The former Chairman of the National Development Planning Commission (NDPC), Prof Stephen …