Home / POLITICS / NPP to maintain Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu As leader In Parliament, Afenyo-Markin To Be Deputy

NPP to maintain Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu As leader In Parliament, Afenyo-Markin To Be Deputy

Spread the love



The New Patriotic Party (NPP) is expected to maintain Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, the Suame MP, as its Leader in Parliament.

His deputy will, however, change from Sarah Adwoa Safo, the Dome Kwabenya MP, to Alex Afenyo-Markin, the Effutu MP.

According to Citi News sources, changes are also expected in the remaining areas of the NPP’s parliamentary leadership.



The Chief Whip slot has been earmarked for Frank Annoh Dompreh, the Nsawam-Adoagyiri MP.

It is currently held by Kwasi Ameyaw-Cheremeh, the Sunyani East MP.

See also  World Bank Leads Review Of Free SHS, Agenda 111 And Others

Mr. Dompreh’s deputies will be the Tolon MP, Habib Iddrisu and the Mfantsiman MP, Ophelia Hayford after Matthew Nyindam, the Kpandai MP and Moses Anim, the Trobu MP held those positions in the current Parliament.



Ghana was left with hung Parliament after the 2020 polls.

In contrast to 2016 where the NPP secured a record majority with 169 seats in Parliament, the governing party’s representation dropped to 137 seats in Parliament.

The NDC matched the NPP by also winning 137 seats in Parliament, the highest ever proportion of seats held by an opposition party in Ghana’s fourth republic.


See also  Beatings, Bitings, Swollen Cheeks, Osafo-Marfo Characterise Achiase DCE’s 2nd Confirmation


The two parties were joined by an independent candidate, Andrew Amoako Asiamah, who won the Fomena seat.

Mr. Asiamah has said he will join the NPP to form a Majority in Parliament despite being kicked out of the Party because he decided to run as an independent candidate.

There are also question marks over whether the NPP could end up with the Majority.



An interim injunction was granted restraining the Electoral Commission from gazetting the NPP’s John Peter Amewu as the MP for Hohoe following a lawsuit by residents in the Guan district who were not given the opportunity to vote in parliamentary elections.

See also  John Boadu: Date For NPP National Delegates Congress Remains Unchanged

Eligible voters within areas in the newly created district, namely Santrofi, Akpafu, Likpe, and Lolobi, were only allowed to take part in the presidential election on December 7, 2020.

Source: Citinewsroom.com

Disclaimer: MyGhanaMedia is not responsible for this report and its content. There are four types of content published on GhanaWeb daily: curated content; syndicated content; user-generated content; and original content.

About Adwenpa-Hene

we publish on Entertainment, Sports, Politics, Lifestyle, and Technology. You can also follow Us on : YouTube Channel - My Ghana Media TV, Facebook - MyghanaMedia TV , Twitter - @MyGhanamedia2 & Instagram - My Ghana Media TV. Email Address: myghanamedia@gmail.com Contact Us: 0200818719

Check Also

Ghana: Today’s Newspaper Headlines; Monday, May 27, 2024.

Spread the love   Below  are the major news headlines captured on the front pages …