Home / ELECTIONS BOX / Ejisu By-election: Battle Lines Drawn, 6 Candidates On The Ballot

Ejisu By-election: Battle Lines Drawn, 6 Candidates On The Ballot

Spread the love

The Electoral Commission (EC) has announced that six aspirants have been cleared to contest in the upcoming Ejisu by-election.

The nominations closed on Thursday, April 18, with some candidates racing against time to submit their forms at the EC’s Ejisu district office in the Ashanti Region.

Leading the pack is Lawyer Kwabena Boateng, the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) parliamentary candidate, who secured the number two spot. Former MP Ing. Kwabena Owusu Aduomi, who is running as an independent candidate, will be number four on the ballot, while Beatrice Boakye representing the Liberal Party of Ghana (LPG) will appear third.

The Convention People’s Party (CPP) has Esther Osei as their candidate, listed in the number one spot. The remaining two positions on the ballot are held by Gabriel Agyemang Joseph and Joseph Attakora, both running as independent candidates and designated as numbers five and six, respectively.

The nomination process was not without controversy as confusion arose when executives of the CPP attempted to block their own parliamentary candidate, Esther Osei, from filing her nomination application. Regional Chairman Emmanuel Gallo allegedly directed the EC not to accept the documents, leaving Osei’s campaign team in a state of uncertainty.

See also  NPP Government Has No Respect For Ga's If Why Would They Only Do Close Season On The Eve Of Homowo - Nii Abehenease I

This unfortunate incident is a result of an ongoing legal dispute within the CPP, following the resignation of several top officials. Deputy National Organiser Eric Osei Boateng criticized the Regional Chairman’s actions and clarified that the internal issues have been resolved by the High Court.

After reaching out to the EC regional office and headquarters, the nomination forms have now been received.


The full list of candidates for the Ejisu by-election is as follows:

  1. Esther Osei (CPP)
  2. Lawyer Kwabena Boateng (NPP)
  3. Beatrice Boakye (LPG)
  4. Kwabena Owusu Aduomi (Independent)
  5. Gabriel Agyemang Joseph (Independent)
  6. Attakorah Joseph (Independent)

The by-election which will be held on 30th April 2024 under the management of the electoral commission seeks to election a Parliamentary candidate for the Ejisu Constituency following the demise of the member of Parliament for the constituency John Kuma who doubled as the deputy finance minister on 7th March 2024.

See also  NDC Opts Not To Run In The Ejisu By-Election

Meanwhile, the largest opposition party the NDC has failed to fill in candidate for the by-election dousing the hiforial around the by-election.

The three time New Patriotic Party former member of Parliament Kwabena Owusu Aduomi contesting as Independent candidate is expected to give the his former party a round for its money.

The party knowing the strength of the former Ejisu MP allegedly sponsored Mrs. Helena Mensah the presiding member for the Ejisu municipal assembly and whip all the MMDCE’s in The Greater Kumasi metropolis to campaign for the NPP Ejisu delegates to elect her as the party’s Parliamentary candidate for the by-election to neutralised the Aduomi control in the constituency.

Unfortunately or fortunately, the dalegates rather voted for Lawyer Kwabena Boateng the former vice Chairman of the constituency keeping the Aduomi’s camp intact ahead of the election.

It has been officially declared by the National Democratic Congress (NDC) that it will not participate in the Ejisu by-election.

See also  Electoral Commission Finally Sets Date For Ejisu By-election


Parliament notified the EC of the need to hold a by-election in Ejisu following the passing of the Member of Parliament for the constituency, John Ampontuah Kumah.

The EC has set Tuesday, April 30 for the by-election.



THANK YOU for constantly reading stories on MyGhanaMedia.com, a news publishing website from Ghana. Kindly like, follow, comment, and SHARE stories on all social media platforms for more entertaining updates!

Please subscribe to our YouTube channel:  https://youtube.com/@mgmtv113
Follow us on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/myghanamedia3
  Click on the link to join the My Ghana Media channel:  https://whatsapp.com/channel/0029VaPItUF4tRrplYzhHn0U


Source:  MyGhanaMedia.com


There are four types of content published on MyGhanaMedia.com daily: curated content; syndicated content; user-generated content; and original content.







Send your news stories to myghanamedia@gmail.com 



About Adwenpa-Hene

we publish on Entertainment, Sports, Politics, Lifestyle, and Technology. You can also follow Us on : YouTube Channel - My Ghana Media TV, Facebook - MyghanaMedia TV , Twitter - @MyGhanamedia2 & Instagram - My Ghana Media TV. Email Address: myghanamedia@gmail.com Contact Us: 0200818719

Check Also

Ayawaso West Wuogon: NDC PC Issues Strong Warning To NPP MP

Spread the love The National Democratic Congress (NDC) parliamentary candidate for Ayawaso West Wuogon, John …