Home / SPORTS / Ghana Still The African Country With Most UEFA Champions League Winners

Ghana Still The African Country With Most UEFA Champions League Winners

Spread the love

Ghana has the highest number of winners (five) out of the 13 African countries who can boast of having at least a player to have clinched the coveted the prize.


Abedi Pele Ayew was the first Ghanaian player to win the UEFA Champions League, but he became the third player after Bruce Grobbelaar from Zimbabwe in 1983-84 season with Liverpool and Rabah Madjer from Algeria in the 1986-87 with FC Porto.

In total, 22 players have previously laid their hands-on the most covetous trophy in the European club football.

Samuel Eto’o Fils is the only African player to have won the UEFA Champions League on three occasions, while for Mali international Seydou Keita has won it twice.

The rest of the 17 players have won it on just one occasion.

Below is a list of winners (countries, clubs and season) in descending order:

Below are all 25 African UEFA Champions League winners:

1983/84: Bruce Grobbelaar (Zimbabwe) – Liverpool

1986/87: Rabah Madjer (Algeria) – FC Porto

1992/93: Abedi Pelé (Ghana) – Olympique de Marseille

1994/95: Finidi George (Nigeria) – AFC Ajax

1994/95: Nwankwo Kanu (Nigeria) – AFC Ajax

1996/97: Ibrahim Tanko (Ghana) – Borussia Dortmund

1999/00: Geremi (Cameroon) – Real Madrid

2000/01: Samuel Kuffour (Ghana) – Bayern München

2003/04: Benni McCarthy (South Africa) – FC Porto

2004/05: Djimi Traoré (Mali) – Liverpool

2005/06, 2008/09: Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon) – FC Barcelona (also in 2009/10 with Inter Milan)

2008/09: Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast) – FC Barcelona

2008/09, 2010/11: Seydou Keita (Mali) – FC Barcelona

2009/10: Sulley Muntari (Ghana) – Inter Milan

2009/10: McDonald Mariga (Kenya) – Inter Milan

2011/12: Jon Obi Mikel (Nigeria) – Chelsea

2011/12: Salomon Kalou (Ivory Coast) – Chelsea

2011/12: Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast) – Chelsea

2011/12: Michael Essien (Ghana) – Chelsea

2017/18: Achraf Hakimi (Morocco) – Real Madrid

2018/19: Mohamed Salah (Egypt) – Liverpool

2018/19: Sadio Mane (Senegal) – Liverpool

2018/19: Joel Matip (Cameroon) – Liverpool

2018/19: Naby Keita (Guinea) – Liverpool

2020/21: Eduoard Mendy (Senegal) – Chelsea

2020/21: Hakim Ziyech (Morocco) – Morocco



Source: MyGhanaMedia.com


Send your news stories to myghanamedia@gmail.com and Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233200818719


About Adwenpa-Hene

we publish on Entertainment, Sports, Politics, Lifestyle, and Technology. You can also follow Us on : YouTube Channel - My Ghana Media TV, Facebook - MyghanaMedia TV , Twitter - @MyGhanamedia2 & Instagram - My Ghana Media TV. Email Address: myghanamedia@gmail.com Contact Us: 0200818719

Check Also

Asante Kotoko Parts Ways With Goalkeeper Ibrahim Danlad And 10 Others – Check Out The Full List

Spread the love Asante Kotoko has announced the departure of goalkeeper Ibrahim Danlad among 11 …