Home / ENTERTAINMENT / Akufo-Addo To Parliament: Approve Justices Yao Gaewu, George Koomson For Supreme Court

Akufo-Addo To Parliament: Approve Justices Yao Gaewu, George Koomson For Supreme Court

Spread the love

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has urged the Appointments Committee of Parliament to play its patriotic duties by approving his Supreme Court justice nominees; Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu and Justice George Kingsley Koomson.

The two justices were among four justices nominated by the president in July 2022 for elevation to the country’s apex court.

They were nominated alongside Justices Frances Barbara Ackah-Yensu and Samuel Kwame Adibo Asiedu, both previously being Court of Appeal justices who were approved by Parliament’s Appointments Committee before the House went on the Christmas recess, leaving the fate of justices Gaewu and Koomson on the balance.

President Akufo-Addo made the appeal during the swearing-in of Justices Ackah-Yensu and Adibo Asiedu at the Presidency on December 28, 2022.

See also  Lyrics + Official Video : Abotrɛ (Patience) By Amerado feat. Black Sherif

Addressing the importance and the need for the occasion, the president said, “I perform the most important act of the administration of the third arm of government which is the swearing into Office of two Justices of the Supreme Court and I refer to Justice Frances Barbara Ackah-Yensu and Justice Samuel Kwame Adibo Asiedu who would be appointed to succeed two justices of the Supreme Court; the late Justice Samuel Marful-Sau who passed away on August 10, 2021, and Justice Yaw Apaw who retired on August 2, 2021.”

During the swearing-in which is in accordance with the stringent details of Article 144 Clause 2 of the Constitution of Ghana, the president reiterated his confidence in the remaining two nominees saying they were rigorously selected through the Judicial Council and in consultation with the Council of State and therefore urged Parliament to have them approved.

See also  Parliament Decriminalises Attempted Suicide

“I, therefore, await Parliament’s approval of the two remaining nominees; Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu and Justice George Kingsley Koomson to fill the vacancies created as a result of the retirement of Justice Clemence Honyenuga which took place on September 24, 2022, and Justice Agnes Dordzie who retired on October 2, 2022.”




Thanks for reading from MyGhanaMedia.com as a news publishing website from Ghana.


Source:  Citinewsroom


Disclaimer: MyGhanaMedia.com is not responsible for this report and its content.
There are four types of content published on   MyGhanaMedia.com daily: curated content; syndicated content; user-generated content; and original content.


See also  Church Is For Poor People, The rich Don’t Waste Time There – Dada KD




Are You Suffering From Weak Erection, Low Libido, Premature Ejaculation Or Infections? – Get M-Plus No



  Maccun Plus (MPlus) is for men and women as a natural aphrodisiac with no side effects

Just contact the number below for M PLUS HONEY.

024-377-7896 / 0561193978








Send your news stories to myghanamedia@gmail.com and Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 200818719


About Adwenpa-Hene

we publish on Entertainment, Sports, Politics, Lifestyle, and Technology. You can also follow Us on : YouTube Channel - My Ghana Media TV, Facebook - MyghanaMedia TV , Twitter - @MyGhanamedia2 & Instagram - My Ghana Media TV. Email Address: myghanamedia@gmail.com Contact Us: 0200818719

Check Also

President Akufo-Addo Releases Full KPMG Report On GRA-SML Contract

Spread the love The complete KPMG report on the agreement between Strategic Mobilisation Limited (SML) …