Home / POLITICS / Alban Bagbin wins Speakership In 8th Parliament

Alban Bagbin wins Speakership In 8th Parliament

Spread the love


The former National Democratic Congress (NDC)  member of Parliament for Nadowli Kaleo and former Majority Leader, Alban Kingsford Sumani Bagbin has been elected the Speaker of Parliament for the eighth Parliament of the fourth Republic.


Bagbin who was the Second deputy speaker of Parliament was selected in Parliament in the dawn of January 7, 2021 after the seventh Parliament was desolved.
He was the Minister for Health in the Ghana government until February 2013 when Hanny-Sherry Ayittey took over the position.


See also  Mahama Intervenes As Haruna Iddrisu Accepts Changes In Minority Leadership

The Speaker is an individual elected to preside over the elected Members of Parliament. The speaker is a Member of Parliament (MP) and is elected at the beginning of each new parliament by fellow MPs.

On the Voting Results

Alban Bagbin=138

Mike Quaye=136


Total vote cast = 275


Source: Myghanamedia.com

About Adwenpa-Hene

we publish on Entertainment, Sports, Politics, Lifestyle, and Technology. You can also follow Us on : YouTube Channel - My Ghana Media TV, Facebook - MyghanaMedia TV , Twitter - @MyGhanamedia2 & Instagram - My Ghana Media TV. Email Address: myghanamedia@gmail.com Contact Us: 0200818719

Check Also

Ghana: Today’s Newspaper Headlines; Monday, May 27, 2024.

Spread the love   Below  are the major news headlines captured on the front pages …