Home / POLITICS / How John Mahama’s ‘3 Wise Men’ Bounced Back In Grand Political Style

How John Mahama’s ‘3 Wise Men’ Bounced Back In Grand Political Style

Spread the love

Three former ministers commonly referred to as the ‘3 wise men’ appointed to oversee critical projects under the erstwhile John Dramani Mahama administration are back in full swing in service to the country though in different capacities.

Alban Kingsford Sumana Bagbin, former Minister of Health; Enoch Teye Mensah, former Minister of Employment and Social welfare and later Water Resources, Works and Housing as well as Cletus Avoka, former Interior Minister and later Majority Leader were responsible for Government’s Priority Projects under the Mahama regime.

See also  Sack NDC's Asiedu Nketiah From Parliamentary Service Board- NMC Chair

Both Enoch Teye Mensah and Cletus Avoka both their seats in parliament after they were defeated in the constituency parliamentary primaries and general elections in 2016 respectively.

Alban Bagbin who hitherto was one of the longest serving lawmakers in the country on the other hand, refused seek re-election when the party opened nominations for prospective candidates.

Avoka Defeats Deputy Minister

Mr. Cletus Avoka who has contested parliamentary elections since 1992, defeated a former Deputy Upper East Regional Minister Dr. Frank Fuseini Adongo to reclaim his seat.

See also  Re: “Back Off, It Is Not Your Turn; Allow Alan To Lead Us In 2024”............NPP-USA Denies It Backs Pro-Alan News story

Apul Avoka scored 33,679 to beat his closest contender, the incumbent Member of Parliament Hon Frank Fuseini Adongo who polled 15,997 votes’ whiles Benjamin Anafo of the CPP pulled 842 and Karim Mohammed Aduku polled 174.

Bagbin Elected Speaker

Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin was on the dawn of January 7, 2021 elected Speaker of Parliament after several hours of chaotic scenes in the chamber of parliament.

Whereas National Democratic Congress (NDC) lawmakers nominated Alban Bagbin as the choice for Speaker, the New Patriotic Party (NPP) on the other hand chose Professor Aaron Mike Oquaye.

Lawmakers went into voting characterized by chaotic scenes and in the end, the Former MP for Nadowli Kaleo, Alban Sumana Bagbin of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has been elected Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the Fourth Republic in the closely contested polls.

He polled 138 votes against his predecessors Prof Mike Oquaye’s 136 with one legislator failing to vote.

E.T Mensah Elected Council of State Member

Last week, the former lawmaker for Ningo-Prampram and founding member of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) overwhelmingly won election to represent the Greater Accra Region on the Council of State.

E.T Mensah polled 58 out of the 58 votes cast on the on the election which was held on February 12, 2021.

He beat stiff opposition from Michael Kofi Mensah and John Mantse Akwetey after two contenders withdrew from the race.

About Adwenpa-Hene

I'm Adwenpa-Hene |Blogger & Broadcaster Journalist. I am the CEO and manager of this noble website. I publish on Entertainment, Sports, Politics, Lifestyle, and Technology. You can also follow Us on : YouTube Channel - My Ghana Media TV, Facebook - MyghanaMedia TV , Twitter - @MyGhanamedia2 & Instagram - My Ghana Media TV. Email Address: [email protected] Contact Us: 0200818719

Check Also

NPP Will Bring IMF Money To Influence You, Take It But …… – Ododododiodio MP Tells Assin North Constituents

Spread the love Member of Parliament for Ododododiodio Constituency Edwin Nii Lante Vanderpuye has charged …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *