Home / GENERAL NEWS / Some MPs Lost Seats In 2020 Elections Because They Became Too ‘Big’ – Director Of Research At Presidency

Some MPs Lost Seats In 2020 Elections Because They Became Too ‘Big’ – Director Of Research At Presidency

Spread the love

Director of Research at the Office of the Presidency, Dr. Isaac Owusu Mensah has explained why the New Patriotic Party lost some seats in the 2020 elections despite the party retaining power.

He said the current situation of an equal number of seats in Parliament is due to the untoward behaviour of some NPP MPs who lost their seat by becoming “too big” after the 2016 elections.

“Some of the Members of Parliament in the last government became too big, not approachable. All the factors that propelled them to win the 2016 elections, all too soon they had forgotten about them,” he told Raymond Acquah on Upfront last Wednesday.

According to the Political Scientist, had it not been for the arduous efforts of MPs like Samuel Abu Jinapor, Peter Amewu, Hassan Tampuli and Amin Adam, the NPP would have been the Minority in Parliament.

See also  No Need To Cry Over Spilled Milk,I Don’t Regret Appointing Martin Amidu As Special Prosecutor – Akufo-Addo

“We told them in 2019 that they are going to lose this number of seats. Let me be honest to say that if it had not been Abu Jinapor, Minister for Lands and Natural Resources, Honourable Amewu, Hassan Tampuli and MP for Karaga, Amin Anta Adam these gentlemen did whatever they could in order for them to win their seats if they had not done that NPP would have been in Minority.

“So the data in 2019 did not change in 2020 elections because the conditions in which we indicated were not met by the NPP at the time so if they had met those conditions things would have changed,” he said.

He also dismissed projections that the New Patriotic Party (NPP) cannot secure a third consecutive victory in the 2024 polls.

See also  Numerous protests Can Not Overturn The Elections Results - Frank Asiedu Bekoe Tells NDC.

He contended that these and other factors found in research data conducted by him put the current government in the best position to win the next presidential race.

“I can tell you that the NPP will win the next election. If you go to Ahafo Ano, they are able to show you that [they] have about 5,000 of the voter population in this town who did not vote because of ‘abcd’ reasons.

“So, if NPP is able to galvanise all these types of voters, they will win,” he said.

Dr Owusu-Mensah urged the Party’s leadership to resolve internal wranglings that can potentially ruin their chances of defeating their main opponent.

“Now, NPP has no candidate – we only have four runners. So, we are unable to know who is winning now. But in terms of the parliamentary, our data show that NPP is far ahead of the NDC. But as we speak, we will only be able to know who is winning when the constituency elections are over.

See also  Otumfuo To Doctor Who Swept 15/21 Awards: I Bless You To Go And Specialize But Never Forget Ghana

“I will say this; the government can break the eight with a slim margin; not because I’m in government,” he stressed.



















Source: Myjoyonline.com










Disclaimer: MyGhanaMedia is not responsible for this report and its content. There are four types of content published on MyGhanaMedia daily: curated content; syndicated content; user-generated content; and original content.



Send your news stories to [email protected] and Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 200818719



About Adwenpa-Hene

I'm Adwenpa-Hene |Blogger & Broadcaster Journalist. I am the CEO and manager of this noble website. I publish on Entertainment, Sports, Politics, Lifestyle, and Technology. You can also follow Us on : YouTube Channel - My Ghana Media TV, Facebook - MyghanaMedia TV , Twitter - @MyGhanamedia2 & Instagram - My Ghana Media TV. Email Address: [email protected] Contact Us: 0200818719

Check Also

Ghana: Today’s Newspaper Headlines; Thursday, 6th October, 2022

Spread the love                         …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.