Home / ELECTIONS BOX / Charles Opoku Wins NPP Assin North Primary To Face NDC’s Gyakye Quayson

Charles Opoku Wins NPP Assin North Primary To Face NDC’s Gyakye Quayson

Spread the love

Mr Charles Opoku, a popular philanthropist in the Central Region and an indigene of the Assin North constituency, has won the parliamentary primaries of the New Patriotic Parties (NPP).

Charles Opoku polled 397 (74.06%) of the valid votes cast and his closest contender, Freeman Amoah-Kyei, polled 136 (25.37%) of the total 533 valid votes cast. Three (3) votes (0.57%) were rejected bring the total votes cast to 536.




Speaking to the Parliamentary candidate-elect of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) for the Assin North by-election in the Central Region, Mr. Charles Opoku, has called on party faithful to bury their differences and come together to win the seat for the party.

He said his victory should serve as a launch pad for the party to bridge the divisions within the rank and file.




Big guns from the party hierarchy were also present at the centre to monitor proceedings.

Notable among them were the General Secretary, Justin Frimpong Kodua; National Organiser, Henry Nana Boakye, and the central  Regional Chairman,Robert K. Kutin Jnr.



The National Democratic Congress has indicated that its candidate for the upcoming Assin North by-election, is the ousted Member of Parliament for the constituency, James Gyakye Quayson.



The Electoral Commission of Ghana has set Tuesday, June 27, 2023, for the by-election.


Assin North By-election

The Assin North constituency seat became vacant following a 17 May 2023 judgement of a seven-member Supreme Court panel which included Justices Jones Dotse (presiding), Nene Amegatcher, Mariama Owusu, Gertrude Torkornoo, Henrietta Mensa-Bonsu, Yonny Kulendi and Barbara Ackah-Yensu, unanimously declared the election and swearing-in of the MP for Assin North, James Gyakye Quayson, unconstitutional, null, void and of no effect.

The apex court held that Quayson was not qualified to contest for the position of member of Parliament at the time of filing his nomination forms between 5 to 9 October 2020, in the lead-up to the 2020 presidential and parliamentary elections.


The court further held that the Electoral Commission (EC) erred when it allowed Quayson to stand for the Assin North seat in the 2020 general election when he had not shown evidence of renunciation of his Canadian citizenship.

The NDC just after the judgement of the Supreme Court, decided to throw its weight behind the embattled former MP, James Gyakye Quayson and to allow him to recontest for the Assin North constituency seat. The party as a result, did not hold primaries to elect a candidate like the NPP did.

Aspirants of all political parties who wish to contest in the by-election the Electoral Commission (EC) has said, will receive their nomination forms from Monday, 12 June to Wednesday 14 June from 9:00am to 12:00pm and from 2:00pm to 5:00pm each day. The aspirants are also required to pay a GHc 10,000.00 filing fee and all completed nomination forms are expected to be delivered to the EC in quadruplicate.





THANK YOU for constantly reading stories on MyGhanaMedia.com,  news publishing website from Ghana. Kindly like, follow, comment and SHARE stories on all social media platforms for more entertaining updates!


Please subscribe to our YouTube channel :  https://youtube.com/@mgmtv113
Follow us on Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/myghanamedia3


Source:  MyGhanaMedia.com


There are four types of content published on MyGhanaMedia.com daily: curated content; syndicated content; user-generated content; and original content.







Send your news stories to my[email protected] and Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 200818719




About Adwenpa-Hene

we publish on Entertainment, Sports, Politics, Lifestyle, and Technology. You can also follow Us on : YouTube Channel - My Ghana Media TV, Facebook - MyghanaMedia TV , Twitter - @MyGhanamedia2 & Instagram - My Ghana Media TV. Email Address: [email protected] Contact Us: 0200818719

Check Also

Vehicle Owners Likely To Pay GH₵100 ‘eco-tax’ Annually

Spread the love Petrol and diesel vehicle owners may be required to pay a new …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *